• Sun. Jun 23rd, 2024

FIRST TIME IN HISTORY: Edo Queens clinch NWFL trophy

Emem Essien’s 26th minute acrobatic opener helped Edo Queens win the Nigeria Women Football League Premiership for the first time in the club’s history, at the Samson Siasia stadium, platinumnewsng.com is reporting.

It was a nail-biting encounter at Yenagoa but Moses Aduku’s relentless Edo Queens clinched their first major title with a 1-1 draw against Bayelsa Queens.

The Benin-based team headed into the match sitting top of the table with 9 points from five games and needed a win or draw to guarantee their championship or a draw if Bayelsa Queens and Rivers Angels failed to secure maximum points.

The match began with high intensity as both teams were aware of the stakes. Edo Queens took the lead early in the second half when Emem Essien scored an acrobatic goal from inside the six-yard box following a scramble in the box from a corner kick in the 29th minute. The stunning goal sent Edo Queens’ supporters into raptures as they sensed the historic victory drawing closer.

However, Bayelsa Queens, determined to fight for their fifth NWFL title, responded strongly. In the 49th minute, Comfort Folorunsho was booked for a rash challenge in front of her box. Zainab Olapade stepped  up and equalized with a beautiful free-kick, bringing the score to 1-1.

Despite the equalizer, Bayelsa Queens needed all three points to leapfrog their rivals and win the championship.

Edo Queens held their nerve and defended resolutely to ensure the match ended in a draw, which proved to be enough to crown them champions.

Rivers Angels, who also had an opportunity to win the title if they picked up three points, were unable to surpass Edo Queens on the final day as they conceded late and played out a 1-1 draw against Heartland Queens.

With this draw, Edo Queens have made history by winning the NWFL for the first time in the club’s history.

Jokanola Bolaji

Hello, I am here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *