• Sun. Mar 3rd, 2024

ICC Women’s T20 Qualifiers: NCF names Lucky Piety, 13 others in Yellow Greens Final Squad.


Dec 6, 2023

The Nigeria Cricket Federation (NCF) on Wednesday announced the squad list that will be competing at the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Qualifier platinumnewsng.com is reporting.

The World Cup qualifiers scheduled to take place in Uganda from the 7th to 18th December 2023 is the Division One round (final round) of qualifiers that will usher the two best teams to the ICC World Cup.

Division One is made up of eight teams which comprises six seeded teams and two finalists from Division Two of the qualifiers. The seeded teams are host, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Namibia, Tanzania and the Female Yellow Greens of Nigeria. Botswana and Kenya however join the final qualification round after getting to the finals of division two.

Meanwhile, Nigeria has named a very strong and youthful team mixed with experience and capable of setting a new record of appearing at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup for the first time.

The female yellow Greens’ contingent that would be battling it out for the only two tickets to the 2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup built to take place in Bangladesh from September to October includes long-term captain, Blessing Etim, Sarah Etim, Favour Esiegbe, Rukayat Abdulrasak, Adeshola Adekunle, Peculiar Agboya, Victory Igbinedion, Abigail Igbobie, Lucky Piety, Christabel Chukwuonye, Rachael Samson, Esther Sandy, Salome Sunday and Lillian Udeh

Nigeria is in Group B alongside the Southern African side, Namibia; the Qualifiers host, Uganda and Rwanda.

Nigeria is expected to kick off the qualifiers on Sunday, 10th of December with a mouth-watering encounter against Namibia. They will be in action two days later when they’ll take on Rwanda, before playing their final group match against the host, Uganda, 48 hours later.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *