• Fri. Jun 14th, 2024

It’s Ifelodun LG Against Ilesa West LG For Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup Final

The 4th Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup reached the Crescendo as Ifelodun Local Government and Ilesa West Local Government beat twenty-nine other teams to book their places in the final of the most prestigious grassroots tournament in Osun State.

In the first semi-final of the tournament, Ede South LG who advanced to the stage via shootouts lost 7-6 via penalties to Ilesa West LG in a keenly contested match held at the Ataoja School of Science Pitch. The two teams were profligate in front of goals thereby failing to find the back of the net in regulation time.

In the Second Semifinal of the competition, Ifelodun LG against all odds defeated Olorunda LG by two goals to nil, a game that had many “heart to mouth” moments.

The final of the tournament between Ifelodun LG and Ilesa West LG will come up on Monday,, January 15th, which is a significant date, as it is the birthday of the late first executive Governor of Osun State, Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke.

The Competition, which is dedicated in honour of the first Civilian Governor of Osun State, Otunba Isiaka Adeleke is solely sponsored by Rep. Bamidele Salam who represents the good people of Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore and Ejigbo Federal Constituency of Osun State in the National Assembly.

Adeleke Dynasty, Eyiowuawi FC and Egbedore LG are the past winners of the prestigious Memorial Football Championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *