• Wed. Oct 4th, 2023

Peseiro Invites Divine Nwachukwu and 3 Other NPFL Players for Sierra Leone Clash

Head coach of the Super Eagles, Jose Peseiro has named Divine Nwachukwu and three other home-based players for the Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone in Monrovia

The 63-year-old Portuguese tactician has followed all nine games at the Nigeria Premier Football League Super Six going down at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena in Lagos.

Coach Peseiro wowed by the performance of Bendel Insurance midfielder Divine Nwachukwu with two goals at the Super Six called up the youngster and home-based goalkeeper Victor Sochima and Olorunleke Ojo in the squad. Joining them is Rivers United defender Ebube Duru.

The gaffer also announced captain Ahmed Musa, goalkeeper Adebayo Adeleye, defender William Ekong, midfielder Alex Iwobi, and forward Moses Simon, along with several others.

The standout player in exceptional form is forward Victor James Osimhen. His remarkable tally of 31 goals in all competitions for SSC Napoli this season played a pivotal role in guiding the Italian giants to the semifinals of the UEFA Champions League and securing their first Italian Serie A title in 33 years.

The Super Eagles are top of their group with nine points out of four matches. Nigeria and Sierra Leone will clash at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Stadium in Monrovia on Sunday, 18 June.


Goalkeepers: Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *