• Fri. Jun 14th, 2024

Abraysport Emerge Champions of AMAPROBet9ja

Abraysports FC have emerged champions of the 2023 AMAPROBet9ja Football Championship following their 1-0 victory over Kwara Football Academy (KFA) in the final on Sunday in Ilorin.

Olabode Solabi was the hero of the day as his 11th minute penalty handed his side their first ever AMAPRO title after losing the final to NNL All Stars in 2021.

The game lived up to expectations with both sides coming at each other in the early minutes but the first chance fell to Abraysports when Adebayo Suraj sent in a well measured cross to find Onatola Ayobami, but Kolo Samson the goalkeeper for KFA produced an outstanding moment to put it out.

Samson was penalized in the 8th minute following a foul on Solabi inside the area as the centre referee wasted no time pointing to the spot.

Solabi took the responsibility upon himself as he converted from 12 yards to put Abraysports FC on the driving seat in the 11th minute.

KFA came close to getting a timely equalizer three minutes after but Quadri Ahmed sky rocketed his effort hurriedly from close range.

The dangerous Solabi had the chance to double the lead for Abraysports on 20th minutes after connecting perfectly with the pass from Obadun Rasheed but his effort went wide.

KFA got the chance to level the score but Uche Solomon’s free kick was well dealt with by the defense of Abraysport as they held on to the lead into the break.

KFA began the second half looking for a quick response as Anthony Sunday initiated an attack for KFA as he delivered a well timed pass to Jelil whose effort went way wide off target.

Azeez Sodiq on two occasions came close to getting the leveller for KFA from dead ball situations but his efforts were agonizingly struck against woodwork on both occasions.

The pressure kept mounting on Abraysports FC late in the game but the defense was on ground to curtail the attacking forays of KFA.

At the end it was Abraysports who emerged winners of the 8th edition of the 2023 AmaproBet9ja Football Championship.

The Executive Governor of Kwara State, Abdulrazaq Abdulrahman who was special guest of honor presented the giant trophy to Suleman Alase, captain of Abraysports.

Governor Abdulrahman also presented the King of AMAPRO, Prince of AMAPRO and Tournament’s top scorer awards to the winners.

Jokanola Bolaji

Hello, I am here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *