• Wed. Oct 4th, 2023

The road to crown the next Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament queens has been mapped out as the group stage draw was held Wednesday, September 7, 2022, for the 12 teams in contention for the 2022 title.

The draw ceremony took place at the New Festival Hall, in Benin City as the competing teams discovered their opponents for this year’s BOWFT.

The 12 teams are split into four groups, each group will see round-robin play with teams facing the two others once. Only the top two teams will qualify for the knockout stages.

This year’s group stage with the absence of last edition’s winners, Bayelsa Queens and runners-up, Rivers Angels will not be part of the tournament that will see interesting group stage matches across the four groups.

Nasarawa Amazons and FC Robo will look to use their NWFL Premiership pedigree to outshine Nationwide side, Braveheart Ladies for the only two slots you for grab in their group.

It’s the battle of royalties in group B as Edo Queens will test their preparation so far under new manager, Moses Aduku when they take on Royal Queens from Delta and Royaltoms FC of Lagos who have said they are in this event to take everyone by surprise.

Fortress Ladies will be under immense pressure to play against two NWFL Premiership sides, Naija Ratels FC and Confluence Queens despite playing in familiar terrain.

The last group which many have tagged as a group of death will see Delta Queens, Osun Babes and Heartland Queens all fight for two available quarter-finals slots in their group.

The last – maiden edition – was won by Bayelsa Queens after defeating Rivers Angels through penalty shootouts at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City.

The full draw
Group A: Nasarawa Amazons, Braveheart Ladies, FC Robo

Group B: Edo Queens, Royal Queens FC, Royaltoms FC

Group C: Naija Ratels, Fortress Ladies, Confluence Queens.

Group D: Delta Queens, Osun Babes, Heartland Queens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *