• Tue. May 28th, 2024

After four postponements as a result of shenanigans of various concerned parties, the Edo State Football Association has inaugurated a new board to be chaired by Fred Newton, after he emerged as winner, pulling more than two third of the 24 votes cast, platinumnewsng.com is reporting.

Present at the Airforce Base in Benin City, the venue for the FA election was a delegation from the glass house in Abuja represented by the first vice president of the Nigeria Football Federation, Mr Felix Anyansi Agwu. The outgoing FA Chairman, Dr. Aghedo Moses was also present alongside the Chief of Staff to the Edo State government, Osaigbovo Iyoha.

The fate of the Edo State Football Association’s Board and chairmanship was decided by delegates elected from the 18 Local Councils FA and statutory delegates representing various football bodies such as the Referee Association (Edo Referee Council), Nigeria Coaches Association (Edo State Chapter), Premier League representative (Bendel Insurance FC), Nigeria Women Football League (Edo Queens FC), Nigeria Women Amateur League (Fortress Ladies FC) and Nation-wide League NLO (Rolly FC).

Five candidates were on the ballot for the Chairmanship position, the contenders include Fred Newton Erhunmwunse, Engr. Emmanuel Edekin Imiere, Johnbull Edosomwan, Egbon Victor, and Benjamin Owerei.

Fred Newton Erhunmwunse polled 15 votes to defeat Emmanuel Edekin Imiere who polled seven votes.

Johnbull Edosomwan came third after securing just one vote while Egbon Victor who was absent did not get any vote.

The position of Vice Chairman candidate was an unopposed battle with only the name Kindness Ohiowele, a former board member of the FA, running uncontested.

Seven candidates contested for the membership positions, Amadin Stephen, Charles Olubayo, Faith Ojeaga, Mike Uhuanmwangho, Mikhail Osakpomwan Igbinovia, Kennedy Ugbodaga, and former board member Paul Ojeisekhoba.

Amadin Stephen, Mike Uhuanmwangho and Mikhail Osakpomwan Igbinovia all contested for the two available positions to Edo South as board members. Amadin Stephen and Mikhail Osakpamwan Igbinovia emerged winners as they polled 16 and 19 votes respectively to defeat Mike Uhuanmwangho who polled 12 votes.

The Electoral Committee chaired by Saturday Okao declared the winners of the electoral process. However, candidates with any grievances as regards the election will have to lay their complaints with the appeal committee headed by Osamudiamen Osagiede. A bye election will be held for the second slot available to Edo North as Charles Olubayo, the other candidate was not present at the election venue.


Chairman – Fred Newton Erhunmwunse (Edo South)

Vice Chairman – Kindness Ohiowele (Edo Central)

Membership – Amadin Stephen (Edo South)

Membership – Mikhail Osakpamwan Igbinovia (Edo South)

Membership – Paul Obazu Ojeisokhoba (Edo North)

Membership – Faith Ojiaga (Edo Central)

Membership – Kennedy Ugbodaga (Edo Central)

Jokanola Bolaji

Hello, I am here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *