• Fri. May 24th, 2024

AFCON 2023: Peseiro lists One Home-Based in Squad for Sao Tome, ignores Ahmed Musa

Super Eagles’ Head Coach, Jose Peseiro, has selected his 23-man squad for the upcoming final-day Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against Sao Tome and Principe in Uyo.

The roster includes on-field captain William Ekong, defenders Tyronne Ebuehi and Semi Ajayi, midfielders Wilfred Ndidi and Frank Onyeka, and forwards Moses Simon, Victor Osimhen, and Taiwo Awoniyi, among others.

For the game scheduled on Sunday, 10th September at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Peseiro has called up three goalkeepers, eight defenders, four midfielders, and eight forwards. Nigeria, with 12 points from their previous five matches, has already secured a spot in the finals. However, they must secure at least one point to top the group ahead of second-placed Guinea Bissau, who have 10 points and will play Sierra Leone in Bissau.

Peseiro has included Belgium-based centre-back Jordan Torunarigha and forwards Victor Boniface and Gift Orban for the first time. Additionally, there are recalls for Portugal-based left-back Bruno Onyemaechi and defensive midfielder Raphael Onyedika.

Here’s the complete list of invited players:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli FC, Italy); Jordan Torunarigha (KAA Gent, Belgium); William Ekong (PAOK FC, Greece); Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (Cardiff FC, Wales); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Gift Orban (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Boniface (Bayern Leverkusen, Germany)

Jokanola Bolaji

Hello, I am here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *