• Fri. Jul 19th, 2024

New NFF Board Emerges With Ibrahim Gusau As President.

It is a new era in Nigerian football scene as new executive members were on Friday September 30th 2022 in Benin City voted in keenly contested election that ushered in two women into the board for the first time in the history of the country’s football

Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau emerged as president of the Nigeria Football Federation after defeating ex-international, Peterside Idah in a re-run election held at the Edo Heritage Hotel, Benin City on Friday, September 30th, 2022.

The Zamfara born had in the first ballot defeated his closest rivals, former First Vice President and second Vice President, Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi and Mallam Shehu Dikko.

On the first ballot of the election that took place at the Edo Heritage Hotel, Benin City saw the former Chairman of Chairmen polled 21 votes is the closest rival, Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi polled 12 votes and Shehu Dikko came third polling 6 votes; ex-international, Peterside Idah polled 1 vote.

The North-West candidate who scored 20.5 percent will immediately take over from FIFA supreme council member, Amaju Melvin Pinnick who opted out from contesting for the third term, he was voted in as the President in 2014.

FIFA and CAF Representatives on the ground at the election venue consulted the law book to validate the winning to avoid any form of inconsistency and stated that Ibrahim Musa Gusau cannot be announced the winner since he couldn’t make up to 21+% of the total vote cast.

There was however a moment of suspense as other aspirants decided not to go for a rerun, but ex-international, Peterside Idah declined to step down and went for a rerun. In the rerun meanwhile, Ibrahim Musa Gusau went on to win with 39 to 1 votes with one vote voided.

In other positions, Enyimba International supremo, Mr. Felix Anyansi-Agwu polled 23 votes to beat Senator Solomon Ogba who polled 8 votes to emerge as the First Vice President.

Mr. Ahmed Yusuf Fresh emerged as Chairman of Chairmen after polling majority votes of 41 cast to emerge unopposed.

For board members, Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen emerged as the winner after defeating Mohammed Alkali in a rerun by 22 to 19 votes. The two had initially polled 15 and 14 votes respectively.

Alhaji Babagana Kalli polled 23 votes to pick the first slot for North East on the NFF board as Timothy Henman defeated Sajo Mohammed 32 to 9 votes in the re-run to book the second slot.

For Northwest, unopposed Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa of Kano State polled 40 votes to book the North-West seat on the NFF Board.

There was no election in the South East as there was an inconsistency in the electoral rule book which hinged on Federal Character.

In the South-South election, Rt. Hon Essien Udofot and Nigeria Women Football League Chairperson, Aisha Falode emerged with 19 and 13 votes respectively to book their place on the board.

South West will have Sunday Ajayi and Ganiyu Majekodunmi on the NFF Board after they both polled 12 votes each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *